Hunter's Raid
Bookmark and Share
visiting_header

When you explore the Shenandoah Valley retracing the route of General Hunter and his soldiers, you’ll discover beautiful and vibrant communities filled with historic and cultural treasures. From Staunton in the north, to the Roanoke Valley in the south, and Lynchburg to the east, you’re invited to spend a few days and learn all about our region’s significance in the Civil War that first divided and then reunited our nation.

BEDFORDsite-block-bedford

Historic Avenel



avenel413 Avenel Avenue, Bedford, VA 24523
540-586-1814 • www.historicavenel.com

Historic Avenel, circa 1838, was the focal point of a 200-acre plantation that has served as the centerpiece in the social, cultural and political life of Bedford for over 150 years.

Bedford Museum and Genealogical Library



bedford_museum201 E. Main Street, Bedford, VA 24523
540-586-4520 • www.bedfordvamuseum.org

The museum is housed in a 1895 Masonic Temple in Centertown Bedford and is Bedford’s only example of Romanesque Revival architecture. The exhibits trace the history of the area, from early Native American culture, through the Civil War and into the mid-twentieth century.

Longwood Cemetery


cemeteryThe Longwood Cemetery is one of the earliest cemeteries in Bedford and provides visitors with a glimpse of the unique people who settled this land and created out of it a new county. It features the Monument of Valor that marks the final resting place for Civil War Veterans.

BOTETOURT COUNTYsite-block-botetourt

Botetourt County Historical Museum



botco_museum1 West Main Street, Fincastle, VA 24090
540-473-8394 • www.bothistsoc.org
Open Monday – Saturday 11-2 PM and Sunday 2-4 PM

Since opening it doors officially for the first time at 1 PM on Sunday, November 27, 1966, the Botetourt County Historical Museum has served as a repository for hundreds of artifacts that have helped to interpret the history of Botetourt County for thousands of visitors. Located directly behind the historic Botetourt County Courthouse, the museum is housed in a building that dates back to the late eighteenth century.

Buchanan Swinging Bridge



buchanan_bridgeMain Street, Buchanan, VA 24066
www.visitbotetourt.com/locations/hunters-raid

The Buchanan Swinging Bridge is 366 feet long, 57.5 feet tall and the only one of its type to cross the James River. Portions of the bridge date back to 1851 as the Buchanan Turnpike Company Toll Bridge. On June 13, 1864, Confederate General McCausland burned the covered bridge to prevent Federal Troops under General Hunter’s command from crossing the James River. Following a series of replacement bridges, the Buchanan Swinging bridge was constructed on the earlier piers in 1939.

Wilson Warehouse / Community House



wilson_warehouse421 Lowe Street, Buchanan, VA 24066

Completed in 1839 for John S. Wilson as a combined store, warehouse and private residence. The John S. Wilson Company was the chief shipper and receiver of goods when Buchanan acted as the western terminus of the James River & Kanawha Canal. The building retains its original woodwork, some original furnishings and the original elevator system used to hoist cargo for storage.

James River & Kanawha Canal Remnants



kanawha_remnantsTown Park Lowe Street, Buchanan, VA 24066

Buchanan is the western terminus of the James River & Kanawha Canal. It took more than 20 for construction of the Canal to reach Buchanan. The second leg of construction from Lynchburg to Buchanan consisted of 196 miles took ten year to complete and cost $8,259,187.00. Portions of the canal wall are visible from the Swinging Bridge.

LEXINGTONsite-block-lexington

Stonewall Jackson House



sj_house8 East Washington Street, Lexington, VA 24450
540-463-2552 • www.stonewalljackson.org

The Stonewall Jackson House located in downtown Lexington is the only home that Jackson ever owned. Guided tours of the period rooms are offered, and special emphasis is placed on Jackson’s life as a professor, church leader, businessman, husband, and community leader during the decade that he lived in Lexington and taught at the Virginia Military Institute before the Civil War.

Virginia Military Institute Museum



vmi_cadets1415 Letcher Avenue, Lexington, VA 24450
540-464-7334 • www.vmi.edu/museum

Exhibits at the Virginia Military Institute Museum include a display of Stonewall Jackson’s military uniform, raincoat and warhorse, Little Sorrel. The museum also features the world-acclaimed Henry M. Stewart Antique Firearms Collection. Guided tours of the Virginia Military Institute are available beginning in the museum lobby each day at noon. The public is also invited to watch as the entire Corps of Cadets marches in formation during regularly scheduled full-dress parades. A special full-dress parade is held each May 15 to honor the cadets that fought and died during the Battle of New Market.

Stonewall Jackson Memorial Cemetery



stonewall_jackson_cemetery2South Main Street, Lexington, VA 24450
540-463-3777 www.lexingtonvirginia.com/attractionsb.asp?id=14

Stonewall Jackson and his family are buried beneath the heroic-size statue of Stonewall Jackson sculpted by artist Edward V. Valentine and unveiled in 1891 before a crowd of 20,000 to 30,000 people. Also buried at the cemetery are 144 Confederate veterans, including General William N. Pendleton, Revolutionary War veterans, two Virginia governors (John Letcher and James McDowell) and Margaret Junkin Preston (Civil War Poet Laureate of the South).

Lexington Carriage Company



carriages10 Varner Lane, Lexington, VA 24450
540-463-5647 • www.lexcarriage.com

Discover Lexington via horse-drawn carriage as your driver shares stories and points out the many historic sites along the way. As you relax to the rhythm of hoofbeats, you will also learn about two famous horses that still remain in Lexington: Jackson’s trusted horse, Little Sorrel and Lee’s beloved horse, Traveller. Little Sorrell is on display at the Virginia Military Institute Museum, and Traveller is buried right outside of the Lee Chapel.

Lee Chapel and Museum



lee_chapelWashington and Lee University, Lexington, VA 24450
540-458-8768 • www.leechapel.wlu.edu

Lee Chapel was constructed at the request of Confederate General Robert E. Lee who became president of what was thenWashington College after the Civil War. Today, a memorial sculpture of the recumbent Lee by Edward Valentine is on display on the main floor and the chapel itself is used for concerts and lectures. On the lower level, visitors can view the Lee family crypt and Lee’s carefully preserved office. Lee’s beloved horse, Traveller, is interred in a plot outside the museum entrance.

The Natural Bridge



the_natural_bridge15 Appledore Lane, Natural Bridge, VA 24578
800-533-1410 • www.naturalbridgeva.com

Even as far back as the Civil War, the Natural Bridge of Virginia was a sight to be seen! In 1864, Union General David Hunter occupied the town of Lexington and ordered the burning of the Virginia Military Institute before heading over the mountains to threaten Lynchburg. On the march from Lexington to Lynchburg, Union General David Hunter’s troops actually detoured to see the Natural Bridge of Virginia. Later, Confederate troops made the same trip when traveling north after the Battle of Lynchburg.

The Natural Bridge Civil War 150th package includes the DVD, “Hunter’s Raid, The Battle for Lynchburg”, www.NaturalBridgeHotelPackages.com.

LYNCHBURGsite-block-lynchburg

Historic Sandusky and Civil War Center



sandusky757 Sandusky Drive, Lynchburg, VA 24502
434-832-0162 • www.historicsandusky.org

Sandusky was built in 1808, and is on the National Register of Historic Places. Taken over and used as Union headquarters during the Battle of Lynchburg, Sandusky once quartered Gen. David Hunter of ‘Hunter’s Raid’ note, and future Presidents Rutherford B. Hayes and William McKinley, who served on Hunter’s staff.

The National Civil War Chaplain’s Museum



chaplain_museumLiberty University, Mountain View Blvd.,
Lynchburg, VA 24506 • 434-582-2087 www.chaplainsmuseum.org

The National Civil War Chaplains Museum educates the public about the role of chaplains, priests, rabbis and religious organizations in the Civil War. Displays, artifacts, murals and more tell these diverse stories. Interpretive programs show the influence of religion on the lives of political and military personnel.

Old City Cemetery



city_cemetery401 Taylor Street, Lynchburg, VA 24501
www.gravegarden.org

This registered historic landmark opened in 1806 as a public burying ground. The 26-acre site features more than 2000 historic gravestones, monuments, and ironwork enclosures. There are 5 educational museums on the grounds, and the Confederate Section contains 2200 graves of Civil War Soldiers from 14 States.

ROANOKE VALLEYsite-block-vbr

Hanging Rock Battlefield


civilwar_statueExplore the site of the final battle of Hunter’s Raid. As Hunter’s army withdrew from Lynchburg on their way to Union held West Virginia, they were engaged in battle once more by General Early’s forces. Hanging Rock is located just 1/2-mile from I-81 Exit 141. Monuments, markers and a 1.7 mile greenway trail mark the spot of the battle fought on June 21, 1864.

History Museum of Western Virginia



history_museumOne Market Square, Center in the Square,
3rd Floor, Roanoke, VA 24011 • 540-342-5770
www.history-museum.org
Hours: Tuesday – Friday 10am-4pm, Sat 10am-5pm, Sun 1-5pm • Admission charges apply

Founded in 1957, the History Museum interprets the broad spectrum of cultural heritage of the Roanoke Valley region. The museum holds the largest collection of material in the Roanoke Valley devoted to human history – including Native American artifacts, photographs, maps, militaria, and folk-life artifacts. The Museum is located in Center in the Square, in the heart of downtown’s historic marketplace.

O. Winston Link Museum



owl_museum101 Shenandoah Avenue, Roanoke, VA 24016
540-982-5465 • www.linkmuseum.org
Hours: Monday – Sunday 10am-5pm
Admission charges apply

The Link Museum features the striking photography of O. Winston Link. A successful commercial photographer from New York, Link brought his studio outdoors, creating carefully arranged images designed to convey the Norfolk & Western Railway and the communities and countryside along the tracks. The Museum is located in the former N&W passenger station and tells the story of the waning days of steam railroading through 300 original photographic images, sound recordings, and artifacts.

Crystal Spring Pump Station



cs_pump600 South Jefferson Street, Roanoke, VA 24011
540-342-5770 • www.history-museum.org
Hours: Sunday 1-4pm, group tours available on weekdays by appointment • Free Admission

The Crystal Spring Pump Station is listed on both the Virginia Landmarks Register and the National Register of Historic Places. Located at the foot of Mill Mountain is a modest one-story brick building which houses the magnificent steam-driven water pump that served as Roanoke’s primary water source until the 1960s. The Crystal Spring Pump Station is open to visitors from May through September.

STAUNTONsite-block-staunton

Confederate Breastworks



U.S. Rt. 250, approx 20 miles from Staunton
www.fs.fed.us

Fort Edward Johnson, now also known as Confederate Breastworks, was instrumental in defending the town of Staunton during the Shenandoah Valley Campaign of 1862. Enjoy this winding ½ mile interpretive trail along the top of the Shenandoah Mountain. Learn how the soldiers built the breastworks. Help protect this historic landmark by staying on the trail and out of trenches.

Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia



fc_museum1290 Richmond Road, Staunton, VA 24401
540-332-7850 • www.frontiermuseum.org

American Farm exhibit is a representation of life in America during the 1850s-1860s. An outdoor, living history museum with exhibits and programs that explore the diverse old world origins of the earliest immigrants to America and the culture they created together.

Stonewall Brigade Band



gypsy_park600 Churchville Ave., Staunton, VA 24401
540-213-3880 • www.stonewallbrigadeband.com
Performing at Gypsy Hill Park June–August
at 8:00 pm

Former Mountain Sax Horn Band organized in 1855. Five members served in the Stonewall Brigade led by Stonewall Jackson. Oldest continuous community band in the nation. Free concerts every Monday.

Thornrose Cemetery



thornrose1041 W. Beverley Street, Staunton, VA 24401
540-886-8241 • www.thornrose.org

This beautiful cemetery hosts the designs of T.J. Collins and was established in 1849. At the highest elevation of Thornrose Cemetery is a large Confederate section that is marked by a monument of a soldier, impressive limestone retention walls and cast iron urns. Some 1,777 Confederate soldiers are buried in this section, the remains of many of them moved to this site following the war.

Virginia School for the Deaf and Blind



100 New Hope Road, Staunton, VA 24401
800-522-8732 • 540-332-9000
www.vsdbs.virginia.gov

Students were evacuated and moved to Stuart Hall as VSDB was converted into a military hospital. Historic VSDB provides quality academic and residential services to students who are deaf, hearing impaired, blind, visually impaired and those with multiple disabilities.